Waste to Wonder: Celebrating 40 Years of Solana Center

May 11, 2024 What a wonderful evening of connection, reunion, conviction, history and hope. Thank you one and all for attending Waste to Wonder the 40th Anniversary Celebration of Solana Center for Environmental Innovation at the Encinitas Community Center.

photo credit: Brooke Raines

Our celebration felt the absence of members of the Solana Center community who are no longer with us, let’s take a moment to remember them.

Thank you to our presenters:

  • Russell Levan, Solana Center Board President
  • Tony Kranz, City of Encinitas Mayor
  • Brooke Nash, Solana Recyclers Founder
  • Jessica Ramirez, District Representative, Office of US Representative Mike Levin
  • Ross Tritt, Field Representative, Office of State Assembly Member Tasha Boerner
  • Cipriano Vargas, Manager of Community Engagement, Office of County Board of Supervisors Vice Chair Terra Lawson-Remer
  • Catherine Blakespear, California State Senator
  • Jessica Toth, Solana Center Executive Director

Presenter photos by Logan Goverman

Here are just a few of the takeaways from Waste to Wonder:

  • May 11th is officially designated as Solana Center Day in the County of San Diego!
  • Awards and proclamations recognize and galvanize our work’s impact in the San Diego region. 
    • Office of the Mayor of the City of Encinitas Proclamation honoring the 40th Anniversary of Solana Center for Environmental Innovation.
    • County of San Diego, Proclamation presented by Vice Chair Terra Lawson-Remer Honoring Solana Center for Environmental Innovation’s 40th Anniversary declare May 11th to be Solana Center Day throughout San Diego County.
    • California Legislature Assembly Resolution by Tasha Boerner and Catherine Blakespear recognizing the vital role Solana Center has played in improving the quality of life in the San Diego area.
    • United States House of Representatives, Mike Levin, Member of Congress Proclamation honoring Solana Centers commitment to climate action.
  • Reunions and connections made strengthen our community of environmental advocates and changemakers.
  • Reporting on environmental impact: 93% of waste generated by this event was diverted from the landfill! We prevented countless amounts of trash by using Green Convene our reusable dishware program .  
  • Future goals and possibilities offer a variety of ways for our community to support our next steps in addressing Southern California’s pressing climate issues by working towards our vision: a world with landfills and oceans free of discarded resources.

Support our VISION: A world with landfills and oceans free of discarded resources.

Learn more about how you can help us shine a light on climate solutions.

Thank you to our event sponsors:

Dr. Bronner’s, Lazy Acres Natural Market, San Diego County Water Authority, The Leucadian/1st Street Bar, OB People’s Food Co-op

Thank you to our event partners:

Silent Auction Donors:

  • A Simpler Time Tours
  • Agua Hedionda Lagoon Foundation Discovery Center
  • Barrels & Branches Garden and Gift
  • Boomers Vista
  • Brilliant Earth
  • Culture Brewing
  • Dr. Bronner’s
  • Esquina Wine Shop
  • EDCO Waste and Recycling
  • Hansen Surfboards
  • La Jolla Music Society at The Conrad
  • Milton’s Craft Bakers
  • Patagonia
  • San Diego Air and Space Museum
  • San Diego County Credit Union
  • San Diego Natural History Museum
  • San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance
  • San Diego Botanic Garden
  • Sand Cloud
  • The Plot
  • Total Raptor Experience
  • Trader Joe’s
  • Urbane Cafe
  • Vine Cycle
  • Weidners Gardens

In-Kind Donors:

  • Athletic Brewing
  • Boochcraft
  • Embolden Branding
  • Jimbo’s
  • Lazy Acres
  • Local Roots Kombucha
  • Logan Goverman (photography)
  • Pure Project
  • Surje Coffee Co.
  • Total Wine & More, CA
  • Viewpoint Brewing Co.

Special Thanks:

  • Liz Murphy of Santosha Nutrition for the delicious gluten free, vegan catering
  • Brooke Raines, Photography and Videography
  • Coral Bells, Live Music
  • Surje Coffee Co., serving fresh coffee and mocktails
  • Solana Center Volunteers (we truly couldn’t do this without you!)
    • Christopher Goering
    • Jill and Brooke Levan
    • Logan Goverman
    • David Levy
    • June Harris
    • Julie Redler
    • Donna Green
    • Samantha Stewart
    • Dawn Burcham
    • Angelina de la Mora
    • Jayati Marshall
    • Tracie Barham
    • Lynn Wagner
    • Tyler Chauvin
    • Priscilla Nguyen
    • Nahoko Miesen
    • Yuki Walsh
  • Solana Center Staff
  • Solana Center Board of Directors
  • Solana Center Donors

Leave a Comment