ABOUT US

Our Mission

Solana Center for Environmental Innovation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit mobilizing the San Diego community through innovative outreach and consulting services for businesses and jurisdictions in order to address the region's most pressing environmental issues and enact impactful change.

Our Vision

We envision a region where all cities collaborate to preserve resources through a closed-loop system that keeps materials out of our landfills and waterways, returns nutrients to our soils, and helps create systemic change at all levels that addresses the climate crisis.

Our History

Founded as Solana Recyclers in 1983, we are proud to have pioneered the first comprehensive curbside recycling program in San Diego - and one of the first such programs in the State of California. Together with our partners, we work creatively to promote the sustainable management of our natural resources and connect the community to real solutions. The San Diego region is constantly changing, and we change with it.

EPSON MFP image
1983

Founded as Solana Recyclers by a group of local residents committed to educating the community about the importance of recycling in order to reduce waste and conserve natural resources.

1989

Solana Recyclers named "Best Curbside Recycling Program in California" by the California Resource Recovery Association (CRRA) at that time serving 22,000+ households.

1991

Solana Recyclers' household recycling program was acquired by local waste hauler company resulting in a shift to direct community education prioritizing soil, water, and waste diversion. 

1994

First Master Composter Course held at San Marcos landfill.

2003

Organization's name shifts from Solana Recyclers to Solana Center for Environmental Innovation to reflect the focus on education and action within public and private partnerships required to address the environmental challenges in our region.

2016

Awarded the Governor's Environmental and Economic Leadership Award (GEELA) California's highest environmental honor for demonstrating closed-loop community compost system between local restaurant and farm.

2016

Solana Center begins Food Cycle to demonstrate a closed loop community system for handling waste.

2019

Solana Center begins working on a pilot program to connect grocery store food waste to farmers to create a local closed loop food system. 

2022

SB 1383 goes into effect, with Solana Center providing San Diego's jurisdictions and businesses expert assistance in legislative compliance. 

Present

Curious what we've been up to recently? Check out our media and awards page.

The Impact

With the help of our dedicated community, Solana Center has:

Scroll through our latest report above, click the bottom right corner to expand, or click for a downloadable PDF.
Viewing on mobile? We suggest viewing it in PDF.

Staff & Board

Are you interested in joining the Solana Center team? Check out our job openings.

Leadership Team

Jess Headshot

Jessica Toth

Executive Director

jessica@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 713

Mallika headshot image 400x400_v2

Mallika Sen

Director of Environmental Solutions

mallika@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 724

Environmental Educators

IMG_1421

Kelsea Jacobsen

Environmental Education Manager

kelsea@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 715

20131015_104314

Jennifer Galey

Senior Environmental Educator

jennifer@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 702

Staff Headshot Nam_

Nam-Huy Leduc

Environmental Educator

nam@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 709

Erin headshot template 400x400

Erin Stone

Environmental Educator

erin@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 711

Environmental Solutions

Jackie-Bookstein-Volunteer-Coordinator-web

Jackie Bookstein

Environmental Solutions Specialist & Rain Barrel Lead

jackie@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 706

Leia Headshot_

Leia Berube

Environmental Solutions Lead

leia.berube@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 720

Laura T Headshot_

Laura D. Torres

Environmental Solutions Lead

laura.torres@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 712

Tulsi headshot

Tulsi Moore

Food Cycle & Store Lead

tulsi@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 725

Liz Headshot_

Liz Murphy

Environmental Solutions Lead

liz.murphy@solanacenter.org (760) 436-7986 ex. 714

Larissa headshot 400x400

Larissa Amaral

Environmental Solutions
Specialist

larissa.amaral@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 718

Communications Team

Jess B headshot image 400x400

Jessica Bombar

Marketing & Communications Manager

jessica.bombar@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 705

Jessi Headshot

Jessi Goralski

Community Liaison & Volunteer Coordinator

jessi.goralski@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 707

Kate headshot 400x400

Kate Kesner

Outreach & Communications Coordinator

kate.kesner@solanacenter.org

Kayla headshot

Kayla Tai

Marketing & Communications Intern

intern@solanacenter.org

Operations Management

Sue_Ruiz

Sue Ruiz

Accounting

Sue@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 703

Wendy Headshot_

Wendy Flynn

Contracts Manager

wendy.flynn@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 716

20160728_131410

Nicolle Selby-Thomas

Partnerships & Strategic Support

nicolle@solanacenter.org
(760) 436.7986 ex. 722

20131015_110332

Michael Murphy

Facility Manager

mike@solanacenter.org
(760) 436-7986 ex. 708

Board of Directors

jeff-bishop-staff-solana-center

Jeff Bishop

Board President

natalie-knopp-board-member_0

Natalie Knopp

Board Vice President

mary anne stone headshot

Mary Ann Stone

Board Treasurer

Alanna_2020

Alanna Sullivan

Board Secretary

Levy, David headshot BOD

David Levy

Board Member

Kristin Headshot_BOD

Kristin Larson

Board Member

Russel Levin board of directors headshot

Russel Levan

Board Member

Caroline headshot 400x400

Caroline Hobbs

Board Member

about_pic_wootsie

Margaret "Wootsie" Stockton

Past & Honored Board Member

Interested in joining our Board?

Contact director@solanacenter.org with details on your background, relevant community involvement and how you see yourself fitting within our organization!